mitsu tanaka on beauty

“I had no good boyfriends, I wasn’t pretty enough. I didn’t really feel like a ‘human being’ that men were always talking about. I couldn’t contribute to a discussion with them. I had to start with what I was: a woman. We didn’t even have a language, a vocabulary, for the kind of discourse that we needed to have. . . .I realized that the feelings I had about the kind of person I was were not my fault. I am beautiful. My life is beautiful. I was filled with a feeling that I wanted to make my life beautiful. These are the feelings that I had when I wrote the pamphlet, “A Toilet No More.”

from the feminist manifesto Benjo kara no kaiho (liberation from the toilet) ,1970

Woman's_Rights_Meeting_Tokyo
A women’s rights group meeting in Tokyo

Leave a Reply

